the church of woody guthrie

This land was made for you and me.
This land was made for you and me.

photo

Yesterday was the day that Woody Guthrie passed away in 1967.  I had the honor of performing with the above musicians at a tribute at Ted’s Fun on the River in Wilmington.  The evening was tremendous.  We sang the songs together (at one point the audience sang with me and it delighted me so much I lost my place.)  We passed the peace as we followed along with the song “Howdi Do”.  At the very end the performers all sang “This Land is Your Land”.  Altogether it was a very magical night.

I had the honor meeting Susan Savia, local legend and coordinator for the event, and Kyle Lindley, who I previously mentioned in this blog, among the participants and attendees.  What have I wandered into here?  Wilmington just keeps getting better and better.

Peace be with you, friends.

I suck at names, but from right to left in the photograph, are Kyle Lindley, Susan Savia, Jim Ashley, yours truly, Carter Jewell, Alex Hall, possibly John Fonvielle, Perry Smith, and Mike Adams.

 

Leave a Reply

